SRINAGAR: Days after the law ministry sought nominations for the delimitation commission for J&K, the newly formed Union Territory is likely to name its chief electoral officer as member and four of its MPs as associate members anytime soon, official sources said on Friday.
Under the law, a delimitation commission is headed by a serving or former judge of the Supreme Court and comprises the Chief Commissioner (CEC) or a representative nominated by him and State/UT election commissioner.
The CEC has already nominated election commissioner Sushil Chandra for the J&K panel, an EC official said.
This commission would be chaired by a retired Supreme Court judge. It is learnt that the Centre has begun shortlisting names.
According to J&K Reorganisation Act, 2019, through the delimitation exercise, the number of seats in the Legislative Assembly is to increase from 107 to 114 with due reservations for SCs and STs.


Source link